I’m Lazy Shortbread Cookies

Somewhere between an awkward craigslist roommate situation, securing a new job (baking! full time! with my own recipes!), and trying to move to an area where the neighborhood HEB takes itself seriously, I’ve failed to post. I’ve come back, however, to this blog, eager to settle in and share some things I’ve been learning…

A few week ago, when my boss asked what I was prepared to make as a wintertime themed baked good, I was still wearing shorts and arriving to work sweating. And I realized that it was almost December, that I really didn’t feel like adding another item to my production, and, most importantly, that I had gotten a little lazy.

You see, when I first started my job I would have licked the floors if they had asked me to. I was so excited to be offered the opportunity to bake all day long for money, I felt like I owed them something. The first few months I worked at the cafe I checked out library books, read up online at other baking blogs, and tried new recipes consistently at home and now I found myself wanting to tell my boss to stuff it at the mention of more work that I had to do.

And so, thinking mainly of what I could make with very little time and fuss, I suggested a shortbread cookie. Only three ingredients, shortbread is quick, easy and, consequently, insanely adaptable for different pars.

2 cups butter, 1 cup brown sugar, 4.5 cups flour

Start with the butter which should be soft (if not, throw your butter into the mixer for a few minutes, let it slowly warm up) and add the sugar. Let the butter and the sugar mix for a few minutes, scrape down the sides of the bowl and mix again. Repeat this as many times as you need to until the chunks of butter disappear and it no longer resembles the picture to the left.

Add the flour all at a time and eventually

from this

you get this:

Brilliant. And the dough is extremely forgiving, easy to roll out and holds its form during baking . Bonussss.

Roll out the dough on a floured surface. I am going to try a rectangle shape to each cookie (about 3/4 inch thickness) so I rolled and cut my dough accordingly. Cookie cutters should also work nicely with this dough.

I used a toothpick to make three decorative holes in the dough before baking  (to add an individual touch without being too elaborate).

And baked them at 400 degrees for 12 minutes and yummmm.

They’re buttery and slightly sweet all on their own, but I’m thinking next time a little spice might do them good – cinnamon, rosemary, or (duh) chocolate.

